Dave Gross : Take The Gamble (CD)

Dave Gross - Take The Gamble (CD) (Near Mint (NM or M-))

- +
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Unit price

Media Condition:  Near Mint (NM or M-)
Sleeve Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
Country:    US  
Genre:       Jazz, Blues
Style:         Chicago Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Swing

Brand new sealed copy!


Take the Gamble, the new release by Dave Gross is anything but a gamble as it loudly affirms that 21 year-old Dave may be the most versatile performer of roots music to arrive on the scene in quite some time. Under the eye of producer, Duke Robillard, Dave nimbly glides from decade to decade, revealing his impressive command of the many styles of blues and swing. Dave demonstrates that his phrasing and virtuoso chops are the equal of just about any guitar hero. Dave also shows that he is a skilled songwriter whose poignant lyrics and stylish melodies seem to be written by someone far older; credited for 9 out of the 14 songs on this record. His vocals range from bluesy, down and dirty to almost crooner-like.

The CD kicks off with “Gatemouth” Brown’s foot-stomping classic “She Walks Right In” flowing right into his own tune with New Orleans roots, “Mess On My Plate” – both with a killer horn section. The album is laced with strong originals complimented by 4 carefully chosen covers. Dave and the Duke fire licks back and forth on “I’m Leavin’ Baby,” while Duke plays beautiful rhythm guitar on the swing classic, “After You’ve Gone.” Throughout the record, Dave pays tribute to his heroes; T-Bone Walker (“I Know Your Wig Is Gone”, “I’m So Hungry Blues”), Charlie Christian and Django Reinhardt (“Swingin’ On All Six”, “After You’ve Gone”), among a stew of influences that never seem to overshadow Dave’s own unique voice. He brilliantly weaves from style to style while never compromising who “Dave Gross” is.

Dave is backed by an all-star cast including Duke Robillard, Doug James (baritone/tenor sax), Dennis Gruenling (harmonica), Al Basile (cornet), Arthur Neilson (Upright bass, guitar), AJ Hager (Fender bass), Doña Oxford (piano/organ) and Mark Teixeira and Matt Mousseau (drums).


1. She Walks Right In
2. Mess On My Plate
3. I'm Leavin Baby
4. I'm So Hungry Blues
5. Swingin' On All Six
6. Walkin' In A Daze
7. That's All You Get
8. You Ain'tz Playin' Me No More
9. I Know Your Wig Is Gone
10. After You've Gone
11. Movin' On Down The Line
12. Once Had A Girl
13. Make Things Right


Barcode and Other Identifiers:

Barcode 820360121128


Data provided by Discogs